Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Adams Morgan Moratorium Zone


The Adams Morgan Moratorium Zone (AMMZ) has been in effect, with certain modifications, since 2000.

The moratorium:

  • Maintains a cap on tavern and multipurpose facility licenses (CT, DT, CX, and DX) at ten (10).
  • Prohibits nightclub licenses (CN /DN).
  • Prohibits the conversion of restaurant licenses (CR/DR) to tavern licenses (CT/DT) or multipurpose facility license (CX/DX) unless the cap has not been reached.
  • Restricts the transfer of licenses into the zone to only restaurant and hotel licenses (CR, DR, CH, DH) or off-premises retailer’s licenses, class A or B.


The Adams Morgan Moratorium Zone is more specifically described as beginning at 18th Street and Vernon Street, NW; and proceeding on both sides of all streets, unless otherwise noted:

  • West on Vernon Street to 19th Street
  • Northwest on 19th Street to Wyoming Avenue
  • Southwest on Wyoming Avenue to 20th Street
  • Northwest on 20th Street to Belmont Road
  • West on Belmont Road to Waterside Drive
  • North on Waterside Drive to Allen Place
  • East on Allen Place to 20th Street
  • North on 20th Street to Biltmore Street
  • North on Biltmore Street to Calvert Street
  • East on Calvert Street to Lanier Place
  • Northeast on Lanier Place to Adams Mill Road
  • Northwest on Adams Mill Road, and then Northeast to Ontario Road; East on Ontario Road to Lanier Place
  • Northeast on Lanier Place to Quarry Road
  • Southeast on Quarry Road to Columbia Road
  • Northeast on Columbia Road to Mozart Place
  • South on Mozart Place to Euclid Street
  • East on Euclid Street to 16th Street
  • South on the West side of 16th Street to Florida Avenue
  • Southwest on Florida Avenue to U Street
  • West on U Street to 18th Street, Washington, D.C.


The AMMZ exempts:

  • Restaurant CR/DR licenses
  • Hotels CH/DH licenses
  • Off-Premises Retailer A/B licenses


The ABC Board approved the Adams Morgan Moratorium Zone (AMMZ) Notice of Emergency and Proposed Rulemaking, by a four (4) to zero (0) vote on August 16, 2023. These emergency rules will expire on December 14, 2023, unless superseded by an emergency or final rulemaking. The emergency action is necessary for the preservation of the health, safety and welfare of District residents in order to keep the AMMZ in place until the Board can adopt final rules regarding its renewal.

The Third Emergency and Proposed Rulemaking took effect August 16, 2023, and expires December 14, 2023.