Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

abra

Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration
 

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Extended Holiday Hours and Daylight Savings

Overview
Alcohol licensed establishments registered in the Extended Holiday Hours program may sell and serve alcohol up to 4:00 a.m. and operate 24-hours on select days in conjunction with select District Government and federal holidays  Extended hours start the evening of the first date and end at 4:00 a.m. on the last date.

Hours of alcohol service are automatically extended for licensees during biannual daylight savings changes. 

  • Spring | Any licensee that normally ends alcohol service at 3:00 a.m. is eligible to operate until 4:00 a.m. to compensate for the loss of one (1) hour.
  • Autumn | Any licensee that normally ends alcohol service at 2:00 a.m. will automatically gain one (1) hour to conduct business.

2023 Schedule

New Year's Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Monday, January 2 
Duration | Friday, December 30, 2022 - Monday, January 2, 2023
Registration Deadline | Friday, December 2
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, January 16
Duration | Friday, January 13 Monday, January 16
Registration Deadline | Friday, December 16
President's Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Monday, February 20
Duration | Friday, February 17 - Monday, February 20
Registration Deadline | Friday, January 20
DC Emancipation Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Monday, April 17 (Observed)
Duration | Friday, April 14 - Monday, April 17
Registration Deadline | Friday, March 17
Memorial Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, May 29
Duration | Friday, May 26 - Monday, May 29
Registration Deadline | Friday, April 28
Juneteenth 
Date of Holiday | Monday, June 19
Duration | Saturday, June 17 - Monday, June 19
Registration Deadline | Friday, May 19
Independence Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Tuesday, July 4
Duration | Saturday, July 1 - Tuesday, July 4
Registration Deadline | Friday, June 2
Labor Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, September 4
Duration | Friday, September 1 - Monday, September 4
Registration Deadline | Friday, August 4
Indigenous Peoples' Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Monday, October 9 
Duration | Friday, October 6 - Monday, October 9
Registration Deadline | Friday, September 8

Veterans Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Friday, November 10 
Duration | Thursday, November 9 - Sunday, November 12
Registration Deadline | Friday, October 13

Thanksgiving Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Thursday, November 23
Duration | Wednesday, November 22 – Sunday, November 26
Registration Deadline | Friday, October 23

Christmas Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, December 25
Duration | Friday, December 22 – Monday, December 25
Registration Deadline | Friday, November 24

New Year's Day Weekend 2024
Date of Holiday | Monday, January 1
Duration | Friday, December 29 - Monday, January 1
Registration Deadline | Friday, December 1

 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eligibility
On-Premises Retailers and Manufacturers with an On-Site Sales and Consumption Permit, including Temporary License holders. 

To Apply
Licensees must complete an Extended Holiday Hours Application at least 30-days before the first holiday they would like to participate in. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

Of Note
Board Orders and Settlement Agreement terms apply and may affect eligibility. Extended hours may be restricted by Mayor’s Orders and ABC Board rulemakings.

Extended hours are similarly made available to alcohol venues in conjunction with presidential inaugurals and playoff games involving DC-based professional sports teams. These events are distinct and require separate registration.

Valid Period and Fees
Registration is valid indefinitely and automatically carries into new licensure periods. There is no fee to participate.

DISCLAIMER | ABRA publishes and shares datasets to enhance public access to its information and resources. ABRA assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in content and makes no guarantees of completeness, accuracy, or timeliness. ABRA will make every effort to correct errors brought to its attention. Correction requests should be emailed to [email protected].