Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration

DC Agency Top Menu

ABCA's office will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, in observance of Juneteenth. We will reopen at 8:30 am on Thursday, June 20.

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

New and Reappointed ABC Board Members Sworn In

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Today, two incumbent members of the District’s Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (Board) along with a newly appointed member were sworn in by the Mayor’s Office of Talent and Appointments to officially mark the start of their terms in office.

Nominated by Mayor Muriel Bowser and confirmed by the D.C. Council on July 9, 2019, all three Board members will serve four-year terms ending on May 7, 2023.

The reappointed and new Board members are:

Donovan W. Anderson (Ward 7), an experienced attorney specializing in special education, has served on the Board since 2015. Named Chairperson in November 2015, Mr. Anderson will continue to hold the leadership position in his new term.

Bobby Cato, Jr. (Ward 5), an event producer and marketing strategist focused on engaging African American and other communities of color, joined the Board in 2018.

Rafi Aliya Crockett (Ward 5), is a former Treasury officer, and current principal of her own firm, with extensive leadership experience working on domestic and international compliance programs.

James Short, Jr. (Ward 7), Mike Silverstein (Ward 2), and Rema Wahabzadah (Ward 6) round out the Board with one position remaining open on the seven-member panel.

Board hearings are open to the public and held regularly on Wednesdays. The Board’s weekly calendar and agenda notices can be viewed at