Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

ABC Board Members Short and Wahabzadah Reappointed to Four-Year Terms

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Copy 2 of Alcohol Bills Update (Newsletter).jpeg

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Today, the DC Council unanimously voted to reappoint James Short Jr. and Rema Wahabzadah to the District’s Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board.

James Short Jr. (Ward 7), a DC Deputy Fire Chief and graduate of the George Washington University's Certified Public Manager Program, joined the ABC Board in 2014.

Rema Wahabzadah (Ward 6), an accomplished attorney specializing in government relations and regulatory compliance, has served on the ABC Board since 2018.

Twice nominated by Mayor Muriel Bowser, both Board Members Short and Wahabzadah will serve four-year terms ending on May 7, 2024. A representative of the Mayor’s Office of Talent and Appointments will virtually swear in both members at an upcoming ABC Board hearing to officially mark the start of their new terms.

Donovan W. Anderson (Ward 7), Bobby Cato, Jr. (Ward 5), Rafi Aliya Crockett (Ward 5), Jeni Hansen (Ward 2), and Edward S. Grandis (Ward 2) complete the ABC Board seven-member panel.

ABC Board hearings are open to the public and held regularly on Wednesdays. The ABC Board’s weekly calendar and agenda notices can be viewed at