Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

abra

Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Administration
 

DC Agency Top Menu

ABCA’s office will be closed on Tuesday, April 16 for DC Emancipation Day. We will reopen at 8:30 am on Wednesday, April 17.

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Extended Holiday Hours and Daylight Savings

Alcohol licensed establishments registered in the Extended Holiday Hours program may sell and serve alcohol up to 4:00 a.m. and operate 24-hours on select days in conjunction with select District Government and federal holidays  Extended hours start the evening of the first date and end at 4:00 a.m. on the last date.

Hours of alcohol service are automatically extended for licensees during biannual daylight savings changes. 

  • Spring | Any licensee that normally ends alcohol service at 3:00 a.m. is eligible to operate until 4:00 a.m. to compensate for the loss of one (1) hour.
  • Autumn | Any licensee that normally ends alcohol service at 2:00 a.m. will automatically gain one (1) hour to conduct business.

2024 Schedule

New Year's Day Weekend 2024
Date of Holiday | Monday, January 1
Duration | Friday, December 29, 2023 -
Monday, January 1, 2024
Registration Deadline | Friday, December 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Monday, January 15
Duration | Friday, January 12 - Monday, January 15
Registration Deadline | Monday, December 18
Washington's Birthday Weekend
Date of Holiday | Monday, February 19
Duration | Friday, February 16 - Monday, February 19
Registration Deadline | Monday, January 22

DC Emancipation Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Tuesday, April 16
Duration | Friday, April 12 - Sunday, April 14 &
Monday, April 15 - Tuesday, April 16
Registration Deadline | Monday, March 18

Memorial Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, May 27
Duration | Friday, May 24 - Monday, May 27
Registration Deadline | Monday, April 29

Juneteenth
Date of Holiday | Wednesday, June 19 
Duration | Tuesday, June 18 - Wednesday, June 19
Registration Deadline | Monday, May 20

Independence Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Thursday, July 4 
Duration | Wednesday, July 3 - Thursday, July 4
Registration Deadline | Tuesday, June 4

Labor Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, September 2
Duration | Friday, August 30 - Monday, September 2
Registration Deadline | Monday, August 5

Indigenous Peoples’ Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, October 14
Duration | Friday, October 11 - Monday, October 14
Registration Deadline | Monday, September 16

Veterans Day Weekend 
Date of Holiday | Monday, November 11
Duration | Friday, November 8 - Monday, November 11
Registration Deadline | Monday, October 14

Thanksgiving Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Thursday, November 28 
Duration | Wednesday, November 27 - Sunday, December 1
Registration Deadline | Monday, October 28
Christmas Day Weekend
Date of Holiday | Wednesday, December 25
Duration | Tuesday, December 24 - Wednesday, December 25  
Friday, December 27 - Sunday, December 29
Registration Deadline | Monday, November 25


 


 


 


 


 

Eligibility

On-Premises Retailers and Manufacturers with an On-Site Sales and Consumption Permit, including Temporary License holders. 

To Apply

Licensees must complete an Extended Holiday Hours Application at least 30-days before the first holiday they would like to participate in. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

Of Note

Board Orders and Settlement Agreement terms apply and may affect eligibility. Extended hours may be restricted by Mayor’s Orders and ABC Board rulemakings.

Extended hours are similarly made available to alcohol venues in conjunction with presidential inaugurals and playoff games involving DC-based professional sports teams. These events are distinct and require separate registration.

Valid Period and Fees

Registration is valid indefinitely and automatically carries into new licensure periods. There is no fee to participate.

DISCLAIMER | ABCA publishes and shares datasets to enhance public access to its information and resources. ABCA assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in content and makes no guarantees of completeness, accuracy, or timeliness. ABCA will make every effort to correct errors brought to its attention. Correction requests should be emailed to [email protected].